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The word “dealer” 

is blue 

The expiration date is 

white print on a blue 

background 

“Iowa” is printed in blue The sequence number is 

printed in red 

The license number 

is printed in red 

License Renewal 

Current licenses and plates expire on December 31, 2022. You have the option to conveniently 

renew your license(s) and any dealer license plates online, or by submitting the paper application. 

Renewal letters, with instructions for how to renew, will be mailed out at the end of September. 

We have upgraded the functionality for online license renewal. See how simple it is to renew and 

pay for your license online. 

2022 License Renewal 

Central Programs Bureau 
PO Box 9278 | Des Moines, IA 50306-9278  
Phone: 515-237-3156 | Fax: 515-817-6532 

Dealer License Plates 

The new dealer license plates become effective on 
January 1, 2023. All previously issued plates will 
expire December 31, 2022 and should be destroyed 
immediately thereafter. The use of any previously 
issued plates after December 31, 2022, could result 
in citation by law enforcement. 
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1. Q) When do the current dealer licenses and plates expire? 

 A) December 31, 2022. Titles cannot be transferred after this date unless the license has been renewed. Any pur-
chase of a vehicle without a license will be subject to title and registration fees. Any sale of a vehicle without a license 
may be subject to law enforcement action. 

2. Q)  If I have not received my new dealer plates by December 31, can my old dealer plates still be displayed? 

 A) No. You may be issued temporary, paper dealer plates for use until you receive dealer plates. 

3. Q)  How long will my dealer license be valid once I renew? 

 A) Two years; thru December 31, 2024. 

4. Q)  Can I pay with one check if there is more than one renewal? 

 A1)   No, when submitting the online renewal format, you will pay separate transactions with a credit or debit card for 
each license renewal.   

 A2)  Yes, when submitting the paper renewal format, as long as the check number is written in the space provided on 
each renewal.  

5. Q)  Who needs to complete the dealer continuing education?  

 A)  All used motor vehicle dealers must have an owner, principal, corporate officer, director, or member or partner of 
a LLC or LLP complete a minimum of 5 hours of continuing education program courses over a two-year period to re-
new their dealer license. Those dealers who are seeking renewal of a used motor vehicle dealer license who have 
taken the 8-hour, pre-licensing education requirement within the preceding 24 months are exempt from the continuing 
education requirement for license renewal.  

6. Q)  Where are the 5-hour continuing education classes held? 

A) Information relating to class schedules, locations and fees can be obtained via the web at Iowa Independent Auto-
mobile Dealers Association (IIADA) website: https://www.iowaiada.com/dealer-education 

7. Q) Can I make any changes to my business model or dealer information on the online dealer license renewal? 

A) Yes and no. You may make changes, such as dealer plates, select business and contact information, and a few 
others. You may not make changes to key aspects, such as business address, owners/officers, adding new motor 
vehicle makes and more. Some changes require additional documentation.    

8. Q) I have both a towable RV and motor vehicle dealer license. Will I receive two renewals? Will my dealer plates display 
 the same dealer number, such as the motor vehicle dealer number? 

A) Yes, you will receive two renewal notices. Each renewal will need to be completed, signed, and returned, or com-
pleted online. Your dealer plates will display the dealer number of each license number. If you order dealer plates 
under your motor vehicle number, those plates will display the motor vehicle dealer number. If you order plates under 
your towable RV dealer number, those plates will display your towable RV dealer number. So you will have two sets 
of plates. 

9. Q) How much will it cost me to renew my licenses? 

A)  Information about dealer fees can be found at:   

https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/f/FeesforDealerLicenseApplication  

10. Q) How do I renew my license online? 

A)   Go to https://arts.iowadot.gov/dealerrenewallogin.aspx See page 3 for details. 

2022 License Renewal 

https://www.iowaiada.com/dealer-education
dealer%20fees%20that%20can%20be%20found%20at%20https:/iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/f/FeesforDealerLicenseApplication.
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Renewing Your License Online 

Did you receive this message with 

your dealer or recycler license re-

newal application? If so, you may not 

need to fill out the paper application 

and send in a check. You’re eligible 

to renew your license immediately with the information on your renewal form and a credit 

card. New functionality this year allows you to make some changes, such as ordering 

more or fewer plates, removing extension lots, or updating your business hours. 

Renewing your license online will have a familiar feel — it is based upon the paper appli-

cation. There are four steps in separate tabs to click through. 

To begin your online renewal, go to: https://arts.iowadot.gov/

dealerrenewallogin.aspx and login using  your license number and PIN. 

Reviewing your license information to ensure it is correct. 

Verifying the fees you are paying for your license renewal and dealer 

Providing dealer continuing education information. If you are not required to 

have continuing education, the tab will not be highlighted, as shown here. 

Clicking “Continue” will then take you to Iowa’s state 

government payment portal, where you can pay your 

fees with a credit card. Enter your payment information 

and email address. A receipt for the transaction will be 

sent to you at the email address you provide. Once your payment is complete, click 

“Return to myMVD” and you will be taken back to the online licensing system. 

At this point, your license has been renewed, updated within the Iowa DOT’s system, and 

your license plates have been ordered. All that remains is choosing how you wish to re-

ceive your license credential. As we move to 

a more automated renewal environment, the 

department no longer requires your license to 

be printed on parchment paper as it has in 

the past. To finish the renewal process, you 

will be directed to your choice of having your 

license mailed to you or having it generated 

then in a PDF format for you to print from 

your own location. 

2022 License Renewal 

Finally, certifying you are authorized to renew the license and that all 

information is true, correct, and complete. 

https://arts.iowadot.gov/dealerrenewallogin.aspx
https://arts.iowadot.gov/dealerrenewallogin.aspx

